About the Athletic Study Center @ U.C.Berkeley

Since 1984, the ASC has been supporting student athletes in developing as independent, self-reliant and successful young adults. The ASC encourages student athletes to integrate, participate, and become vested members in the academic community. A supportive and instructional staff provides a broad range of programs including advising, tutoring, career planning, internships, research, and professional training. Please view our complete mission statement.

University of California, Berkeley
169 Chavez Student Center
Berkeley CA 94720-4220

510-642-0605 (phone)
510-643-8545 (fax)

Administration

Director, Derek Van Rheenen, Ph.D., dvr@berkeley.edu, 510-642-0605

Business Manager, Kelly Barkan, kbarkan@berkeley.edu, 510-643-1516

Information Technology, Richard DeShong, rdeshong@berkeley.edu, 510-642-5123

Advising Program

Assistant Director, Chris Grace, c.grace@berkeley.edu, 510-643-9249

Advising Coordinator, Melanie Moonsamy, melaniem@berkeley.edu, 510-643-7269

Academic Advisor, Aaron Giacosa, agiacosa@berkeley.edu, 510-664-4630

Academic Advisor, Cassidy Raher, raher@berkeley.edu, 510-643-9245

Academic Advisor, Ed Wright, edwright@berkeley.edu, 510-643-8115

Academic Advisor, Heather Grothjan, heather.grothjan@berkeley.edu

Academic Support

Assistant Director, Tony Mirabelli, Ph.D., tonym@berkeley.edu, 510-643-8517

Learning Specialist Coordinator, Christine Ho, christinevho@berkeley.edu, 510-664-4940

Learning Specialist, Andrea Wensits, awensits@berkeley.edu

Learning Specialist, Christian Hutchin, chutchin@berkeley.edu, 510-662-7189

Learning Specialist, Joel Derechinsky, jderechinsky@berkeley.edu, 510-642-2331

Learning Specialist, Kris Arden, karden@berkeley.edu

Tutorial Assistant, 510-642-7189

Transition and Development

Assistant Director, Tarik Glenn, tglenn78@berkeley.edu

Transition and Development Coordinator, Kasra Sotudeh, ksotudeh@berkeley.edu, 510-643-3996